Skip to content

A Question about Dyes

June 6, 2012

I’m experimenting with dying nylon with food colouring. I know that the colouring, combined with vinegar, creates an acid dye, which adheres to nylon as well as protein fibers. What I don’t know, however, is how wet fast it is. Will the colours bleed onto me, my clothes, or things around me if, for example, I sweat in this awful Midwestern heat that I’m visiting family in? Or perhaps if I get splashed by a puddle? I’m enjoying the colours that are coming out of this project, but I want to be sure that I won’t destroy anything in the process. What say you, O Mighty Internet Denizens? Is this wet fast at all?

Thanks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

